Assurance unit

The CAA’s eligibility criteria includes that the accountant must be able to demonstrate that they have taken and passed a professional examination covering assurance work as approved by the CAA (this may be limited to accountant units of a professional qualification).

For ACCA members this is F8 Audit and Assurance or P7 Advanced Audit and Assurance, or previous equivalents. For ICAEW members this is certificate level assurance units of the ACA qualification.

If you have not passed a professional examination covering assurance work but want to apply for a licence you can register with us to take the IFA Direct assurance unit. The total fee for the online unit including tuition support, resource materials and exam is £770. Please email the education team at [email protected] if you have any queries on the assurance unit.

CAA online ATOL training

Accountants must register and complete the ATOL holder training unit required by CAA prior to the granting of the licence by the IFA. 

To apply to do the online ATOL training unit, IFA members need to email the CAA at [email protected] with the following information:

  • name;
  • surname;
  • email address;
  • name of professional accountancy body;
  • and membership number. 

If you have not completed the course, you can still submit your application to the IFA, including the date when you expect to complete the course. Once you have completed the course, please email the pass certificate to the membership department or post to

The Institute of Financial Accountants
CS111, Clerkenwell Workshops,
27-31 Clerkenwell Close,
London EC1R 0AT.